top of page

Understanding Your Medicare Coverage

Updated: Sep 27, 2021

The Four Parts of Medicare

Original Medicare consists of Part A and Part B. Part A refers to hospital insurance. It covers medically necessary hospital, skilled nursing facility, home health, and hospice care. If you have worked for at least 10 years and have paid Medicare taxes, you typically don’t pay a premium for Part A. Out of pocket costs depend on how long you stay in the hospital and if you have paid the Part A deductible.

(c) Can Stock Photo Inc. / kgtoh

Medicare Part C is the Medicare Advantage program. To apply for a Medicare Advantage Plan, you must already be enrolled in Part A and Part B and continue to pay the premium for Part B.

Medicare Advantage Plans plans include Part A, Part B, and generally Part D (Prescription drug plan). Many offer extra benefits that Original Medicare doesn’t cover.

Advantage plans automatically cover essential Part A and Part B benefits, except hospice services. If you need hospice services, it’s covered under Original Medicare, even if you’re enrolled in a Medicare Advantage plan.

Medicare Part D is the prescription drug plan. This is an optional coverage that is available as a stand-alone prescription drug plan with to go along with Part A and Part B or as part of a Medicare Advantage plan.

If you’d like help or want more information about Medicare and the options available to you, please call Don Heath (805) 660-3413 or Dawn Heath (805) 575-0462 for a no-cost, no-obligation consultation.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page